Active Start (Ages 2-6)

Active Start - Special Olympics NSlogo-active-start-fr

Welcome to the Active Start Program. This site is dedicated to the development of Physical Literacy in children with intellectual disabilities.

Active Start is part of the Long Term Athlete Development Program (LTAD), which falls under Sport Canada’s Canadian Sport for Life Initiative (CS4L). With the ultimate aim of promoting fitness, physical literacy, and well-being, the Active Start component is driven by tenets of human growth and development of the 0 to 6 age group.

The objective of this site is to furnish parents, SO regions, teachers, educational assistants, recreation specialists, recreational & occupational therapists, physiotherapists and others involved in Active Start the resources necessary to deliver this worthwhile program.

Active Start - Special Olympics NS

Halifax Youth Program

The program was piloted by the Chignecto-Central Regional School Board. Elmsdale was the scene for the unveiling of the Active Start instructional video in June.

Now 230 schools across Nova Scotia are part of the Active Start Program, an initiative approved by the Department of Education and accepted in all 8 School Boards.

  • CCRSB
  • Tri County
  • AVRSB
  • CBVRSB
  • SRSB
  • HRSB
  • CSAP
  • SSRSB

Contacts For Community Programs

Provincial Development Coordinator – Tom Fahie – (902) 719-6163 

REGION ACTIVE START LEADER EMAIL
Cape Breton Ursula Hynes ursula.hynes@servicom-llc.com
Cobequid Kieren Hume kieren.hume4@gmail.com
Valley Elizabeth Mason-Squires rowansroomrdc@gmail.com
Elmsdale Colette Dunn colette_ece@live.ca
Eskasoni George Paul prgeorge@eskasoni.ca
Halifax Moira Pellerine mpellerine@mpltd.ca
Pictou Crystal Cameron crystal.cameron@pcha.nshealth.ca
Pictou Landing Irene Endicott irenee@pictoulandingschool.ca
Potlotek Nicole Campbell ncampbell@potlotek.ca
Sackville/Bedford Heather Langley Heather.Langley@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca
Dartmouth Jan Keddy jay.kay.2@hotmail.com

Lesson Plans


Instructional Videos


Resources

Programs